Schedule

Day 0 - 06/18/2012 |Day 1 - 06/19/2012 | Day 2 - 06/20/2012 Print
Last updated on 06/20/2012
7:15am
Registration opens



8:15am
Prelude to State of NOW / Doors Open


Participants:
Matthew Ebel (@matthewebel) - Musical Director, #140conf

8:45am
Welcome to 92Y / #140conf


Participants:
Jeff Keni Pulver (@jeffpulver) - founder, curator #140conf
Sol Adler (@92Y) - Executive Director, 92Y

9:00am
Global Frequency


Participants:
Kevin Slavin(public) (@slavin_fpo) - co-founder, area/code

9:10am
The Rise of the Social Consumer


Participants:
Robert Stephens (@rstephens) - founder, Geek Squad

9:20am
Falling in love with data


Participants:
Hjalmar Gislason (@datamarket) - Founder & CEO, DataMarket

9:30am
The continued evolution of the real-time web


Participants:
John Borthwick (@Borthwick) - CEO, betaworks

9:40am
How the Social Web will Impact Search and the Real-time Web


Participants:
Stefan Weitz (@stefanweitz) - Sr Director, Search, Microsoft/Bing

9:50am
Solving a Mystery Using Social Media


Participants:
Dan Lewis (@sesamestreet) - Director of New Media Communications @sesamestreet.

10:00am
Social TV: Water Cooler Effect Gone Online


Participants:
Caroline Giegerich (@DailyMarauder) - Founder/Editor, Daily Marauder
Ian Schafer (@ischafer) - CEO, Deep Focus
Rishi Malhotra (@rishimalhotra) - Managing Partner, [212]Media

10:15am
Our kids will spend the rest of their lives in the future
Are we getting them ready?

Participants:
Kevin Honeycutt (@kevinhoneycutt) - out to change the world.. one classroom at a time!

10:30am
SOPA/PIPA and the Road Ahead


Participants:
Andrew Rasiej (@Rasiej) - Founder Personal Democracy Forum; Chairman NY Tech Meetup

10:45am
Joe Trippi Interview


Participants:
Andrew Rasiej (@Rasiej) - Founder Personal Democracy Forum; Chairman NY Tech Meetup
Joe Trippi (@JoeTrippi) - Fmr Dean Campaign Mgr; Author

10:55am
Jack Abramoff Interview


Participants:
Avihu Kadosh - Journalist, Yedioth Ahronoth
Jack Abramoff (@jackabramoff) - Former lobbyist and Washington insider - fell into the abyss, working to repent and repair

11:05am
Interlude



11:10am
Medicine & Social Media


Participants:
Krupali Tejura, M.D. (@krupali) - Radiation Oncologist

11:20am
Building Zack’s Dream Room


Participants:
Heather Hamilton (@tjzmommy) - Chief Dream Fulfiller, Zack’s Dream Room

11:30am
Seizing the right opportunity right NOW!


Participants:
Liz Strauss (@lizstrauss) - Founder, SOBCon

11:40am
Fighting Intergenerational Incarceration; breaking the cycle


Participants:
Andy Dixon (@andydixn) - ex-con with convictions

11:50am
Imagine You Own a Liquor Store in a Small Town


Participants:
Becky McCray (@BeckyMcCray) - Co-Host, #140conf Smalltown, Co-Author, Small Town Rules

12:00pm
Survivng Incest in a Small Kansas Town


Participants:
Joe Cheray (@wildheart4vr) - CEO/President, Wildheart Social Media

12:10pm
Chris Brogan Influencer.


Participants:
Diane Brogan (@DianeBrogan) - MomPopPow.com
Stephen Brogan (@SteveBrogan) - MomPopPow.com

12:20pm
The key to success in life, love & social media


Participants:
Andrea Syrtash (@AndreaSyrtash) - author, MSN advice columnist and OWN:The Oprah Winfrey Network (Canada) host.

12:30pm
Making a difference


Participants:
Carlos Delgado (@carlosdelgado21) - Recently retired after 17 years in MLB. Proud father of 2 awesome kids. President of Extra Bases non-for profit

12:40pm
Learning to be...me


Participants:
Jodi Sonoda (@KarmicEvolution) - Student of life, passionate, terrified & living one day at a time.

12:50pm
Being Visible


Participants:
Mark Horvath (@hardlynormal) - Advocate for the Homeless and Humanitarian

1:05pm
Intermission



1:45pm
Prelude to State of NOW: Afternoon


Participants:
Matthew Ebel (@matthewebel) - Musical Director, #140conf

2:00pm
Conversation with Ellen Whitehurst


Participants:
Ellen Whitehurst (@EllenWhitehurst) - The Empowered Life Stylist...Fashioning Your Perfect Life!
Imal Wagner (@imalwagner) - branding communications innovator for emerging media

2:15pm
Oh Snap, There are People in My Data


Participants:
Ron J Williams (@ronjdub) - CEO & Co-Founder, Knodes

2:25pm
iGraphica: Making, selling and talking comics in a post-publishing world.


Participants:
Cal Reid (@calreid) - Senior News Editor, Publishers Weekly

2:35pm
The Future Of Branding: Looking Up


Participants:
Hank Wasiak (@hankwasiak) - Author. TV Host. Partner - The Concept Farm; Adjunct Professor, USC, Marshall School Of Business.

2:45pm
Exploring New Frontiers in Learning -- The Voyages of a Social Media Starship


Participants:
Anthony Rotolo (@rotolo) - Professor at Syracuse U @iSchoolSU. I teach Social Media (#RotoloClass) & Star Trek (#TrekClass). Chief Explorer at #NEXIS. Geek.

2:55pm
Building Software for Social
(winner of #140cuse student competition)

Participants:
Isaac Budmen (@ibudmen) - Syracuse University Student

3:05pm
Social Media in Footwear


Participants:
Dylan Pulver (@MusicIsGood4U) - Co-Founder, Solecamp.com
Jake Pulver (@jakepulver) - Co-Founder, Solecamp.com
Jeff Staple (@jeffstaple) - Founder of Staple Design & Reed Space
Ronnie Fieg (@RonnieFieg) - Owner & Founder of Kith NYC, Footwear Designer

3:20pm
The Making of: Isaac's Live Lip Dub Proposal


Participants:
Gina Morris (@TheBellinanator) - Choreographer

3:30pm
The Philly Youth Poetry Movement (performance)
"Discovering and Finding Meaning in Life"

Participants:
Greg Corbin (@JustGregPoet) - Executive Director, Philly Youth Poetry Movement.

3:55pm
Music Artists and the Real-time Web


Participants:
Charlamagne Tha God (@cthagod) - Morning show on Power 105
DASH (@Dash) - Music Artist
Leslie Hall (@dollyhall) - President, ICED Media (moderator)
Sandy Lal (@sandylal) - Universal Music Group

4:15pm
Exploding Twitter


Participants:
Jack Hidary (@jackhidary) - Entrepreneur – business, social, political

4:25pm
Community Building Through Graffiti Art


Participants:
Anne Marie Batten (@AnneMarieBatten) - Street Nurse and Crisis Outreach Support in downtown Toronto.
Jessey Pacho (@ArtofPhade) - Graffiti Artist
Kedre Browne (@BubzArt) - Graffiti Artist

4:35pm
Give Back Where You Live


Participants:
Jody Steinhauer (@JodySteinhauer) - CBO @BargainsGroup and visionary of Give Back Where You Live

4:45pm
#LupusChat #LupusStyle at the #140conf
How we Find and Share Meaning in the Lupus community Now

Participants:
Amanda Greene (@LAlupusLady) - Alliance for Lupus Research
Tiffany Peterson (@TiffanyAndLupus) - Lupus Warrior

4:55pm
Interlude



5:00pm
Finding Your Purpose


Participants:
Gary A. Bolles (@gbolles) - co-founder, eParachute, Inc.

5:10pm
gURL Power: How and why women use social media to connect, share resources and build communities of friendship and support.


Participants:
Alyson Schafer (@alysonschafer) - Author / Psychotherapist/ Parenting Expert
Julie Cole (@juliecole) - Co-founder/VP, Mabel’s Labels
Kathy Buckworth (@KathyBuckworth) - Author
Maureen Dennis (@weewelcome) - Have a baby & a life, founder.
Theresa Albert (@theresaalbert) - Founder, My Friend In Food

5:30pm
Finding meaning in the chaos of a disaster


Participants:
Gisli Olafsson (@gislio) - Emergency Response Director, NetHope

5:40pm
Owning your 140 Characters


Participants:
Anissa Mayhew (@AnissaMayhew) - President, Slightly Bent Productions

5:50pm
Every Character Counts - Making Mindful Connections in Social Media


Participants:
Alisa Roadcup (@AmnestyWomenRts) - Women’s Human Rights Coordination Group, Amnesty International
Anne Ream (@VoicesandFaces) - Founder, The Voices and Faces Project
Jennifer Severns (@jennerus) - Creative Strategist, Roundarch
Tracie Wagman (@HelpWeveGotKids) - Publisher, Help! … We’ve Got Kids

6:10pm
The Making of Twittamentary


Participants:
Tan Siok Siok (@sioksiok) - filmmaker, entrepreneur and honorary geek with a deep passion for great storytelling in the age of the real time web.

6:20pm
End of Day 1



7:30pm
Screening - Twittamentary at AMC Loews 34th Street 14 (312 W. 34th St., New York, NY)





* schedule subject to change without notice